Our Mission is to collect, preserve and interpret the history of Mare Island Naval Shipyard, and to present exhibits and programs that explore, educate and celebrate the diverse military and cultural aspects of the base.
The Foundation cares for four historic buildings in Mare Island’s National Historic Landmark District:
- St. Peter’s Chapel Built in 1901 and renowned for its beautiful Tiffany stained glass windows, it is the oldest Naval chapel in the United States.
- Quarters “A” Known as the Admiral’s Mansion, and built in 1900, it is the largest (10,500 sq. ft.) of the 13 colonial revival mansions on the island.
- Quarters “B” – Known as the Captain’s Mansion, the home is 7,400 sq. ft, and is also in the Colonial Revival style.
- Building 46 – Built in 1855 as a smithery, and later converted to the pipe shop, it is the oldest building on the island, and currently houses the Museum and Library
- We are also the caretaker for the sail and control room of the Mariano G. Vallejo Submarine (SSBN658) which are on permanent display at the Mare Island Museum.
Mare Island Historic Park Foundation is a 501(c)(3) Publicly Supported Organization established in 1995.